Musta Thought It Was Spring–HA

I know better than to think about spring being here the first part of February, but lost my mind there for a little bit.  The sun was shining brightly…very brightly, and the temperature is above freezing and the wind wasn’t blowing…. not that hard anyway.  I just went nutzier there for a few.  Oldest granddaughter and I threw a couple of steaks on the Traeger and I fixed these earlier in the day.

Back to the green thing.  I know its a little early, but couldn’t resist…..and they were on sale.

 

 

     img_0838

 

CORN AND ASPARAGUS SALAD

3 ears of corn

1 bunch of asparagus

1/2  red onion chopped 

fresh basil chiffonade or chopped

Blanch corn and asparagus.  Cool in ice water.  Cut kernels of cob and slice asparagus in 1 inch or so pieces.   Add onion and basil.

For the dressing, whisk together:

                 1/4 cup sugar

                 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar

                 1/2 tsp salt

                 1/2 tsp  fresh ground pepper

Pour over salad, mix and chill.

img_0869

Isn’t it pretty??  Yummy too.  The original recipe is from Paula Deen and makes twice this much.  Since it was just the oldest grandaughter and I, and I wasn’t sure how the aparagus would go over, I halved it.  Worked out fine.  Salad has a slight Asian flair to it….for me anyway.  You will probably need to salt it more at the table.

 

 

 

img_0853

And aren’t these pretty??  My mother-in-law brought me about 2 pounds.  She called from the store and wanted to know if I wanted some Romas.  Well…duh.   I have been try to cook at least one meal a day for them, besides, I don’t need to eat everything I have been cooking lately.  I know they are hot house, but when I picked up the sack to put them in the fridge, the sack woofed out the most wonderful aroma…..fresh tomatoes. 

Quick Tomato Salad

3 roughly chopped romas 

1/2 chopped red onion

1 cup sour cream  

1  tsp dried dill

Stir the sour cream and dill together and toss in toms and onion.  You could add green bell pepper to make it even more colorful and flavorful, but I didn’t have one.  Salt and pepper to taste at the table.

img_0854

img_0855

 

Well, you get two for one today.  I have 3 of the close grand kids tonite and you never now what that might bring.  Weatherman says it’s suppose to snow tomorrow night, so enjoy while you can.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Musta Thought It Was Spring–HA”

  1. brazenbites Says:

    you put a steak on the Traeger and not asparagus too?
    But you’re right, the salad looks great.
    2 recipes–show off!!
    Shoy

  2. justgrams Says:

    I know how yummy asparagus is on the Traeger, but been wanting to try that recipe. That will be my next use of asparagus.

Leave a Reply

