French Dip and Widgets

img_0881

 

FRENCH DIP MEAT

4-5 lbs beef roast  (I used top round, marked down bin)

1 can Campbells double strength beef broth

1 can water

1 tbsp Penseys beef soup base

1 pckg onion soup mix

1 can Guinness beer

1 tbsp of chopped garlic

Throw it all in the slowcooker (better known as the crockpot) and cook until meat is fall apart done.  I have started with a thawed and a frozen roast and found no difference.  I did try Coor Light beer, but the Guinness is much better.  Take roast out of pot and shred then return to pot and add a box of beef broth.  Cook for another hour or so. 

img_0890

 Now this was a hit with from MIL to grandkids.  Definately a keeper.  Thanks, Shoy for the heads up on the recipe and a starting spot. 

When I bought the Guinness for the recipe,  it made me think of a story my Honey told me.  On his last contract in Iraq, he work with some Brits.  One night they took him to the mess and they can have beer there.  He had a couple and told me that Guinness Draught had a little ball in it that was called a widget and it sure made a good looking head on the beer when your poured it.  I thought…yeah right…just how many of those did you have?   I bought a four pack and when I put them in the cart at the grocery store, they did rattle.   The next day while we were IMing,  I told hm about them.  The side of the can even says….”Hear Something?-That’s the Guinness Floating Widget Deliverying You the Great Taste of Guiness Draught.”  He said pour one and see how pretty it looks.  Me…pour a beer…oh twist my arm.img_08801

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looks wonderful, huh??  Tasted that way too.  Oh me of little faith. img_0882

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , ,

One Response to “French Dip and Widgets”

  1. brazenbites Says:

    Glad you liked it. Funny story here too, about the widget thing. I knew nothing about it. First one from the bottle I dumped out, I thought what the hell is that plastic white thing doing in the beer bottle? I was afraid it was a mistake-something had fallen in by mistake. So I dumped out the beer in case it was tainted and poured another…yes, there was ANOTHER plastic thingy. Erica and Sebastian were here visiting and he said go to their website and find out. Of course the whole story is there. Then I felt dumb for pouring out perfectly good beer. OWell. Live and learn.
    I like to make a big pan of carmelized onions to pile on my sandwich-cheese never hurt either…but neither are necessary.

Leave a Reply

