We’re straving Grams

It ain’t pretty, but it was good and they were starvin.  Must admit…pretty good comfort food for a cold evening. 

img_0900

CHICKEN POT PIE

As you can see, I don’t do pie crusts.  Bottom was a deep dish and top was regular.  No pre baking here.

Used leftover chicken from Wyonella’s suggestion and the broth and pan drippings too.

Simmered in chicken broth:

Diced potato

Diced carrot

Diced red onion

Diced celery

Frozen corn

Frozen peas

No….I didn’t throw them all in together.  You know the drill.  Cook the hardest thing first.  I did throw in a bay leaf and when stuff was almost done…al dente if it was pasta.  I thickened the broth with a little cornstarch.  Shred the chicken and put it in the bottom of the pie crusts.  Spoon veggies and broth over chicken.  Seal with other crust and throw in the oven at 350 till crust is brown and innards bubbly.

Luckily I had thrown the pies in the oven before I went to town to pick up the kids from daycare.  It was ready when we got home.  I also made one for MIL.  When I called her today to check in, she told me that they had leftovers and I didn’t have to cook today.  Can’t beat that.

Leave a Reply

