I Got Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

It was gray and windy today.  The temp hoovered around freezing.  And, its been trying to snow all day.  Real whining weather had I not decided that moving to Alaska was the thing to do.  And then…..I saw the mail lady pull into the driveway.  I met her at the end of the back walk and she had the box that I long awaited…well, not all that long…5 days total.  The mail lady wanted to visit…..I didn’t.  Into the house I ran carefullycarrying box.  Out came the knife to carefuly slit the tape sealing the box and……………………

img_1049

Aren’t they absolutely beautiful???   They are from Lemon Ladies Orchard in CA.  Karen has been great to deal with and she included some extra marmalade to send to My Honey.  I know where I am getting my meyer lemons from now on, unless I can grow them myself…yeah right.  Of course I had to use them right away.  And many more reipes to come

LEMON CUPCAKES

1/2 cup soft butter

1 1/2 flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2  tsp salt

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

zest and juice of one lemon

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

In seperate bowls, combine dry ingredients and then butter milk, lemon zest and juice, and vanilla.  Cream together butter and sugar.  Add eggs one at a time, them add dry and wet mixtures alternately.  Divide among regular sprayed muffin tins and bake at 350 for 20-25 min.  Cool on racks.

Frosting:

   2 tbsp lemon juice

   1 1/2 cup powdered sugar.

 

img_1028

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

