Singin’ the Blues

Well, I did something tonite that I wouldn’t have bet my life on doing before.  While in CA Randy offered me a recipe for blue cheese sauced-up…is that a word??….potatoes.  The thought of it gave me the full body shiver, but my Honey loves blue cheese so I copied down the recipe.  Found some almost out dated Denmark Blue in the markdown bin…was this a meant to be thing.  Ok….I’m cooking for in-laws and can always pawn it off on Daughter #2 and her family.  OMG….OMG….OMG.  they are soooooo good.  Thank you Randy.

img_1135

Before …..and after…………..

img_1137

And here is the recipe…aptly renamed….

Randy Sings the Blues

8 med spuds boiled, peeled and diced

1/2 C butter

1/2 C flour minus 2 Tbsp

1 C milk

1 C cream

1 C blue cheese crumbled

1/3 C bread crumbs

Melt butter, lightly brown flour add milk and cream and cook until thickened then add cheese and stir until melted.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Combine with potatoes and place in sprayed casserole dish.  Top with bread crumbs.  Bake uncovered at 375 for 25 min.

Holy cow that was good.  Oh…and for the meat.  I rubbed a pork loin roast with honey mustard and covered with phyllo dough and bake.  Using dijon mustard works well too.  And now thinking back, we used to bake a beef roast the same way.  Whichever meat you use, it sure comes out moist and tender.

img_1134

COCONUT CAKE UPDATE:

Everybody that has tried it, has loved it.  I did try a cupcake and the combination is plenty coconutty.  I wouldn’t order it or fight anybody for the last piece of coconut cake, but it wasn’t as bad as I remembered.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Singin’ the Blues”

  1. brazenbites Says:

    HEY! That’s my recipe for blue cheese potatoes! I made it for them…

  2. justgrams Says:

    Didn’t know that. Do I need to rename them….Waynes Sing the Blues

Leave a Reply

