NASCAR, Baking and multitasking

Woke up this morning to the wind howling and a mix of rain and snow….a light wintry mix…I believe is the term.  It was sure a good day for soup, so that was the first thing I started with.

Beef and Bean Soup

1.5 lbs stew meat

2 tbsp olive oil

2 handsful of small carrots chopped

3 stalks celery chopped

1 small onion chopped

6 cloves garlic chopped

1 1/2 tsp chopped rosemary leaves

1 1/2 tsp dried oregano

2  32oz cartons of beef broth

1  28 oz can chopped tomatoes

2 15 oz can white beans

Brown meat in olive oil and then remove from pan.  Add chopped veggies to pan and cook until soft.  Return meat and add remaining ingredients.  Let simmer until everything is tender and enjoy.

img_1139

Then caught a ride to town with MIL.  Had to get the truck from the Ford dealer.  It quit us twice coming back from CA, but started and got us home.  Can the dealer figure out what is wrong??  Oh, hell, no.  So I’ll drive it and hope whatever gremlin was there is gone.  Yeah right.   IM with my honey till noon and then to baking.  The weather hasn’t improved, but at least the wintry mix has quit.  Oh well, its almost time for green, green green.  First project is pie.  I found key limes on sale, so that was a project.

img_1147

KEY LIME PIE

1 pre made graham cracker crust

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup lime juice

zest of however many limes it took to get the 1/2 cup juice

2 egg yolks (save whites for meringue)

1 egg

Combine condensed milk, juice, zest, egg yolks and egg.  Pour into pie shell and refrigerate for and hour.  Beat egg whites and 4 tbsp of sugar to make meringue.  Spread meringue to edges of crust and bake at 350 for 15 min or until meringue is brown.

img_11462

I have to give most of this away.  It’s toooooo good.  And while I was IMing with my Honey, I watched Paula.  Orange brownies????  Hmmmmm….I have and orange or two in the fruit bowl.

ORANGE BROWNIES

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons pure orange extract
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange zest
  • 1 recipe Orange Cream Cheese Frosting, recipe follows

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 13 by 9 by 2-inch pan.

Orange Brownies:

Stir together flour, granulated sugar, and salt in a bowl. Add butter, eggs, orange extract, and orange zest. Using a handheld electric mixer, beat until well blended. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes, or until light golden brown and set. Remove from oven, allow to cool and pierce entire cake with a fork. Spread the Orange Cream Cheese Frosting over completely cooled brownies. Cut into squares.

Orange Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 4 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1 (1-pound) box confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons orange zest
  • 2 tablespoons orange juice

In a large mixing bowl, whip the butter and cream cheese together with a hand-held electric mixer. Gradually beat in the confectioners’ sugar until it is all combined and smooth. Beat in the orange zest and juice. Spread over brownies.

img_1153

Another batch to share.  Of course about that time the cake pans I have been watching on ebay were coming up for the end of auction.  While I was watching that, my honey is emailing me.  He had gotten pieces parts for his new scooter…better known as the “Geezer Glide”.  He was excited about the good deal and then had insomnia.  I IMed with him and watched my pans.  Got my pans and then sent him to bed.  After all, it was 1130PM his time and he gets up about 5AM.  Well, now something for the kids.

It was a box mix for cupcakes and 7 minute frosting.  I watched Sandra Lee this morning and decided to give it a try.img_1152

Don’t they look fun??  Kids ought to enjoy them.  Of course by this time the snow has started and is coming down sideways.  The 2 pair of Robins that have come to the front yard and willow tree are sorry they came back so early.img_1148

The whole day I have been smelling ripe bananas.  One look at the fruit bowl told me I had 4 too-brown-for-the-kids-to-eat bananas.  I knew BrazenBites had sent me a recipe for banana muffins.  She claimed they were ugly.  Just the thing to try today.  I looked all through my emails.  I had lost the recipe …..again.  I emailed her for it.  By the time I got a return email, I had found the recipe for Chocolate Banana muffins and had the batter whipped up.  Next time.

CHOCOLATE CHIP BANANA MUFFINS

1 1/2 cups mashed over ripe banana

2/3 cup oil.. I used canola

1 egg beaten

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Combine sugar, oil, bananas and vanilla.  Combine remaining dry ingredients and then add to banana mixture until just combined.  Fold in chips.  Fill muffn cups 2/3 full.  Bake at 425 for 15-20 min.  I used on regular muffin tin and then a mini tin and almost filled it.

 

img_1150

I had a fun day…a busy day and did survive the wind and snow.  BTW…my driver ended up 3rd at Martinsville…my favorite track.  Go #14 Old Spice/Office Depot Chevrolet.  Go Tony!!!!!!!!!  And yes…it’s still snowing.  It’s spring time in Ideeho.

img_1149

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

