A Quiet Evening……Yeah Right

Well, after the flurry of baking yesterday, I thought I would fix an easy dinner and call it good.  HA…..  Had dinner delivered to MIL, girlie and I had eaten, she was in the shower and I had finished dishes.  I plop down at the computer to read my favorite blogs and……POW.  I clicked on Batter Spattered and there it was.  I don’t know…the blog was something about life being like football, or the other way around, or…..oh, I don’t know.  All I could see was her Caramel Apple Cake and it hit me the same way it did her.  I gotta make it NOW!!!!! 

I run down  the ingredient list and I have everything….including the apples.  What is up with that???  OK..melt the butter in the pan while the oven preheats.  Brown sugar….brown sugar…brown sugar…what the……   Guess I’m out.  Oh great…now what.  I call MIL.  She has brown sugar…did I tell you what a wonderful woman she is????  I run over to her house and grab the brown sugar.  The cake is in the oven as we speak….and boy, does it smell wonderful.

Any way ….here was dinner.  Girlie had corn on the cob instead of cucumber salad.  I did experiment a bit with the salad and instead of just salt, pepper, dill and vinegar, I added a little soy sauce.  Pretty good.

img_1154

So here is Molly’s recipe and I agree with her….you only need one apple.

Caramel Apple Cake

Makes one 9-inch cake

  • 3T plus 3/4 cup butter, divided 
  • 1 1/3 cups packed brown sugar, divided 
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup walnuts or pecans
  • 1 large Granny Smith apple – peeled, cored and cut into wedges
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 3/4 cup water
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. In a 9-inch pan, melt 3 tablespoons butter. Sprinkle 1/3 cup brown sugar (set aside the rest for later) and 1/4 teaspoon of the cinnamon. Sprinkle in a small handful of nuts then chop the rest of the nuts and set aside. Arrange the apple wedges in concentric circles or other decorative pattern of your choice.
  3. In a small bowl, mix the dry ingredients including the remaining 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, cream 3/4 cup butter and the remaining 1 cup of brown sugar until smooth. Stir in water. Add flour mixture and stir to combine. Add nuts and stir to combine.
  5. Spread batter evenly over apples and bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 30 minutes.

And here ya go…….

img_1156

So guess I will have a piece and read my new book……….

img_1157

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “A Quiet Evening……Yeah Right”

  1. brazenbites Says:

    HA! That is SO funny. I never knew they had such a book.
    Interesting reading, no doubt.

  2. justgrams Says:

    I joked about the book too. Then I actually found out that there really was one. Interesting read.

  3. brazenbites Says:

    FYI–brown sugar is nothing but white sugar coated in molasses. so keep some molasses on hand in case you run out again. I substitute approx. 1 tsp mild molasses to 1 cup sugar. more or less to taste. cake looks great.

  4. brazenbites Says:

    the above measurement for light brown sugar…more like a Tbsp. of molasses per cup of sugar for dark brown sugar

  5. justgrams Says:

    Well, hell I have molasses in the pantry.

Leave a Reply

