My Honey’s Buddy Steve’s Mom’s Buttermilk Pie

When we were in New Boston TX last summer, we had dinner at Nana’s quite often.  One day I saw Buttermilk Pie on the special board.  I mentioned it, so when we were through with dinner, my Honey ordered it.  He really enjoyed it.  I got a teeny tiny bite…he wasn’t sharing.  That is how I knew it was wonderful. 

Ok…..we live in the North and who makes Buttermilk pie???  No one that I know of.  I had found recipes on the net, but was afraid to try them.  Who do I know from the South???  BHC and Missie….yeah…they live in Georgia, but originally from Ohio.  Not so much.  Steve…yeah, Steve.  He’s from Oklahoma and I bet his Mom has a recipe.  My Honey confirmed it.  He used to talk about it all the time they were in Iraq together.  So from Oklahoma via Iraq, here is the recipe and I got more than one bite.

img_1180

BUTTERMILK PIE

3 eggs beaten well

1 2/3 cup sugar

1 1/2 sticks butter melted

4 Tbsp flour

1/2 c buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp lemon extract

1 unbaked pie crust

Mix all ingredients and pour into pie crust.  Bake at 350 for 55 min and let cool before cutting.

I doubled the recipe because the pie crust recipe I have makes either 2 regular pie crusts or one deep dish.  I made deep dish and a double recipe filled it up just perfect.

img_1185

Thanks again to Steve and his Mom.  This pie is wonderful.  Just remember… the recipe here is for a regular pie.

 

 

Tags:

4 Responses to “My Honey’s Buddy Steve’s Mom’s Buttermilk Pie”

  1. brazenbites Says:

    3 sticks of butter in that deep-dish!! Lordy, You know it’s gonna be good!
    I got burgers on the Traeger and that almond puffy thing is done and yummy but the pictures are stuck in the camera til Seby calls and helps.

  2. justgrams Says:

    Well this isn’t low cal is it. But who says its suppose to be. Burgers in the Traeger sound wonderful. Seby better call and help out or…..

  3. brazenbites Says:

    you’re right-and when we’re selling it by the slice-we won’t be including a calorie count-that would be rather counter-productive. Seby called, sent me a web site and said he would walk me thru the “process” tomorrow AM–this problem with the camera has been holding me back. I don’t LIKE THAT.

  4. justgrams Says:

    I know…hang in there. And yes…when we…..

Leave a Reply

