Spring…Is It Spring Yet?????

OMG…it actually hit 60 degrees today.  The Robins and Magpies are back.  Could it be??  Well, I’ve lived here long enough.  Ain’t gonna hold my breath.  I’m headed to Wyoming with Granddaughter #2 early Thursday morning.  The weather wouldn’t dare mess with me.

The next few days I have to get the boys communion cakes done, so things will be a little short.  But just couldn’t resist sharing this.

img_0640

WELSH SAFFRON BREAD

3 cups boiling water

1 cup dried currants

1 cup raisins

1/8 tsp saffron threads

1/2 cup butter at room temp

2 eggs

1 tsp lemon extract

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg

img_0634

Pour 2 cups boiling water over currants for 15 min and then drain.  Steep saffron threads in remaining water until cool.  Cream butter and sugar then add eggs one at a time and then lemon.  Combine dry ingredients and add to butter/sugar alternately with saffron water until just blended.  Stir in raisins and drained currants.  Pour into greased and floured 9X5 greased and floured loaf pan.  Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes or until tests done.  Cool on wire rack.

img_0641

This is wonderful with butter right out of the oven, cooled to room temp or as toast the next morning.  And I don’t have to share this one.  My Honey doesn’t like raisins and neither does WyoNella and MIL didn’ like it.  BrazenBites, on the other hand, loves it as much as I do.  So if you want a savory quick bread…..try this one.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Spring…Is It Spring Yet?????”

  1. brazenbites Says:

    I LOVE THIS BREAD but had forgotten about it. I’m gonna have to make me some. You are doing cakes ahead of time and then traveling with them?!? Be careful on the road…
    miss ya

  2. justgrams Says:

    I know my oldest and I well enough to know we probably wont get much done after I get there. The boys are on Spring Break, so they will be underfoot as well as Laredo. But an taking everything with me…..just in case.

  3. bisway Says:

    OK, so I finally got to trying some things out of the Splenda cookbook; Granola was OK but needs tweeking, the lemon-blueberry bread was good but again, needs tweeking, we took the Blueberry Buckle to a brunch/birthday party, everyone loved it! The Thai peanut dipping sauce is a keeper! Just made Big Bad Breakfast Cookies last night, they were good warm from the oven, better this morning but could be great … with tweeking … which should be the name of that cookbook!

  4. justgrams Says:

    Well, sounds like ya better get to tweekin. And have Beth help ya get a blog set up and join us. Blueberry Buckle and Thai Peanut Sauce sounds like a good place to start. thanks

  5. brazenbites Says:

    Whenever I make this bread, all the raisins and currents sink to the bottom-do you coat them in flour first? I’ve heard that helps. I’ll try it this time when I make it. Yours come out perfectly distributed…

Leave a Reply

