Sure Signs of Spring

Look what I found outside the kitchen/dining room window……

img_12471

I don’t remember planting these.   It might have been the lady who took care of my yard last summer while we were gone that did the planting.  I never had good luck with bulbs….most of them never see the light of day again after being planted.  I know there is no Garden Fairy, but however they got there, it was a very beautiful surprise.

And more sure signs of spring….

Had company last night.  The neighbors from across the road came out of hybernation.  They brought me some of their stew.  It was yummy.  We sat and had a few beers and got caught up on each others lives.  And that is why this blog is about 12 hours late.

Ran into BB at the grocery store yesterday.  Haven’t seen him in forever.  He used to work with my Honey in American Falls at the Case dealer.  He has been laid off since early December, but hopes to go back the first of the month.  He had been working in Utah, but now has to go to Missouri.  I know winter layoffs are common in construction…lived through plenty myself…but this one seemed a little long. 

MIL came home from Idaho Falls yesterday bearing gifts.

img_1249

And

img_1250

DeeJaye and crew have already been into them as you can see.  So I traded MIL goodies for dinner and she went away a happy as a clam.

PULLED PORK

RUB:

    2 Tbsp Deen House Seasoning

    2 Tbsp Penzey’s Smoked Spanish Paprika

    1 Tbsp Penzey’s Crushed Brown Mustard Seed

    1 tsp Dried Mustard Powder

Rub a pork sholder/butt roast with dry rub.  I used the latex glove trick that Alton Brown suggested and yes, more of the seasoning stuck to the meat instead of my hands.

Add about 1/2 cup of water to the bottom of the slow cooker and add any seasonings that didn’t stick the the roast and then the roast itself.  I cooked mine for about 6 hrs on high, but I was home and could watch the water level.  You can adjust the temp to suit yourself.  Cook until fall apart tender then remove, let cool a bit and then shred.  If I was going to use all the meat for BBQ Pork Sammiches, I would put some brown sugar in the rub.  But I only used half the meat.  The other half reserved for……..

BBQ SAUCE

Sweet Baby Rays Award Winning BBQ Sauce

shot of Tequila..use the cheap stuff and save the Patron

chapped garlic

Combine in sauce pan and bring to a boil.  Add meat.

img_1248

I found a pretty loaf of bread in the day old bin and cut it up for buns.  Add a little coleslaw and you have dinner.  Enjoy!!!!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Sure Signs of Spring”

  1. Guess who??? Says:

    I guess if all else failed, you could throw the rubber glove in the crockpot to get the spices off of it……….

  2. justgrams Says:

    Gee…thanks Honey. You are such a smart ass. Love ya

  3. brazenbites Says:

    Love that “chapped garlic”!! But seriously, that meal looks great!

  4. justgrams Says:

    Ya didn’t tell me that spelling counted. LOL

Leave a Reply

