Windy Morning Muffins

Meant to post last night, but camera batteries died…go figure.  It stayed dry long enough yesterday that we managed to get the garden dug up and the front lawn mowed.  I will do the back today…if we don’t get any rain…and get someone in here with a tiller to finish the garden spot.

img_1330

It’s gray and windy this morning.  Got a few drops of rain on the way to town when I took the Gkids to daycare.  But, I guess if I had posted this last night, I wouldn’t have had a name for my muffins.

WINDY MORNING MUFFINS

3/4 cup quick oats

1/4 c whole wheat flour

1/2 c sugar

1/2 c chopped nuts

1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp baking powder

3/4 c buttermilk, room temp

1/2 c vegetable oil

1 egg, room temp

1 c blueberries

Topping:

1/3 c quick oats

1/4 c brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl.  Combine wet ingredients seperately.  Combine and mix until just combined.  Fold in blueberries.  Combine topping ingredients.  Put batter in muffins cups and top with topping.  Bake at 350 for about 10 min or until test done.

img_1329

I adapted this recipe from Allrecipes, but changed so many things it is almost unrecognisable.  I ended up with 18 muffins.  I used the silicone cups and sprayed them.  Otherwise I would use paper liners.  Makes clean up easier….and kids think they are cupcakes.  Enjoy with a hot cup of coffee on a windy cool morning or anytime you would like.  Hoping for Spring.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

