Apologies to One and All

I owe y’all one huge “SORRY”.  This has been a crazy 2 weeks.  Between trying to get the garden in, assembly of swing-set, erection of swimming pool, end of the school year, wedding cake, preschool graduation………need I say more.

The weather has been great for the most part.

IMG_1430For the most part, the storms have gone around us.  We did end up getting over a half an inch on Memorial Day Sunday.  Of course that was the original garden planting date. 

IMG_1429

Gardening news:

Asparagus, horseradish and rhubarb have poked their heads through and are thriving.  Strawberries are starting to bloom.  I did loose a few, but who knows why. 

All the flower beds are weeded and I’m working at replacing all the mulch.  I’m still liking the rubber mulch and it doesn’t smell like a tire store here anymore.

I have all the seeds in the garden except for the seeds that go in hills.  That is on the agenda for today.  Got 16 pepper plants in the ground yesterday and still have 3 more to go in.  They were in need of a little extra TLC.  they look great this morning so it’s time.  And the tomatoes….planted 19 of the little darlings.  So…when I am overloaded with tomatoes later in the summer.  I got this….IMG_1449

Kid news:

School is over for the summer.  I don’t know why I’m excited.  It just means I will have all three of them more often, but oh well….it is summer.  And I am sure I will be wishing for school to start in two weeks.  Girlie got promoted to the third grade and Rado had her preschool graduation last night.  They go all out at Tykes Time for the kids.

IMG_1447

The pool is up and waiting for the water to warm up.  Takes a long time to warm that much water.  And the swing-set….. it came in three 100 lb boxes and nothing..absolutely nothing was put together.  It has been a slow process, but hopefuly by tomorrow it will be finished.

Wedding Cake:

Our niece Laramie is getting married today in Eureka Nevada.  Originally I was only going to make a grooms cake, but it kinda escalated.  MIL and all headed that way yesterday with the cake in the trunk of her car.  Hope it made it.

IMG_1437

Her topper is two running horses and she wanted a plain cake.  Her colors are brown and maroon, so hope this all works for her.

Cooking:

Not a whole lot of new recipes going on around here lately.  I will try to get better this week.  Been alot of repeats of favorites and dawgs on a stick.  Did make Chicken Tenders and Sour Cream Macaroni Salad.  Don’t think I’ve shared the salad recipe.  My family loves it.

SOUR CREAM DILL MACARONI SALAD

Dressing:

1 cup sour cream

3 Tbsp vinegar

1 tsp Worcestershire

1/2 tsp sweet basil

3/4 cup mayo

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp dill weed

1/4 tsp pepper

Salad:

1 12oz box macaroni cooked

1 cup sliced celery

3/4 c sliced green onion

1/2 cup diced cucumber

1/2 cup sliced radishes

Combine and enjoy.

IMG_1433

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Apologies to One and All”

  1. Shoy Says:

    Tried this salad yesterday and we really like it–Terri usually doesn’t like pasta salad at all and she commented on it-I doubled the vegies-loads of crunch YUM. Bad news is–computer is down AGAIN. It didn’t even last 24 hours. I am taking it down with me to Hum. CO when I go cuz thats where it was built and it comes with lifetime service. I’m calling Rand and Beth tonight to see which weekend would be best, this one or next. Tomorrow is Beth’s birthday June 3. Was my mom’s, too.
    So use work email if you need me
    Shoy

  2. justgrams Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the salad. I always add more veggies than recipe call for. Wish I could join you.

Leave a Reply

