Almond Butter Cookies

I have been eyeing this almost everytime I went to COSTCO and low and behold, the last trip there it just jumped in my cart and came home with me.Now….what to do with it.  Peanut butter cookies are good….why not almond butter???  I used the cookie recipe from my Mom’s Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book.  I never did find a date, but you know the one.  It has drawings of happy women in dresses doing everything just right.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES

“Crunchy rounds. Perfect for the Children’s Hour”

Mix thoroughly……………1/2 cup soft shortening (half butter)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)

1 egg

Sift together and stir in…..1 1/4 cups sifted GOLD MEDAL flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Chill dough.  Roll into balls size of large walnuts.  Place 3″ apart on lightly greased baking sheet.  Flatten with fork dipped in flour…….crisscross.  Bake until set…but not hard.

Temperature:  375

Time:  Bake 10 t0 12 min.

Amount:  About 3 doz. 2 1/2″ cookies

Had to copy that word for word.  Still makes me laugh.  I substituted the same amount of almond butter for the peanut butter.  Not sure what kind of flour I used.  And walnuts must be bigger these days….I only got 2 dozen and 4 cookies.  The cookies are very yummy.

I shall leave you with this gem……

If you’re tired from overwork,

Household chores you’re bound to shirk.

Read these pointers tried and true

And discover what to do.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

