Family Recipe Done Right

What a beautiful way to start the holiday season.  Pic doesn’t do them justice, but had to have them when I stopped by the local Farmer’s Market in the mall today.

My family has always had certain cookie recipes made every Christmas…as I’m sure every other family has.  One of them was Lebkuchen.  My Grandmother and Mom always made them.  I was never too fond of them myself and made them a few times.  My family definitely did not like them.  A couple of years ago, my Honey and I took a Christmastime cruise down the Danube and I bought a tin of Lebkuchen.  They were so good and I was bound to find a recipe I liked.  Well, I did.  It came out of a cookbook that MIL gave me from the late 50’s/early 60’s that the women from the Paul Idaho church put together.  It is so old that the pages are typewritten.  Apparently there was a large group of Germans that settled there years back and there is a “German Specialties” section in the book.  At any rate……these are wonderful and like the ones I bought in Germany.

LEBKUCHEN

This is the famous German Christmas Honey Cake

1/2 cup honey

1/2 cup molasses

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

1 egg

2 3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cloves

1 tsp allspice

1/3 cup chopped nuts

Mix honey and molasses and bring to a boil.  Add sugar, lemon juice and zest. In separate bowl mix together dry ingredients. Stir in egg, nuts and molasses mixture.  Chill overnite.  Roll 1/4 inch thick and cut into 2 1/2 inch by 1 1/2 inch oblongs.  Roll out only the amount that you can bake, keeping the rest of the dough chilled.  Place 1 inch apart on greased baking sheet and back at 400 for 10 to 12 minutes or until no imprint remains when touched.  Remove from baking sheet and brush with hot glaze.  Let cool and store to mellow.

Glaze:

1 cup sugar   1/2 cup water   1/4 cup powdered sugar

Boil together sugar and water until it threads or 230.  Remove from heat and stir in powdered sugar.  Brush hot over cookies.  If glaze become sugary, reheat and add a little water until it clears.

This crock should make a good place to age these.  MIL gave it t us.  These cookies sure are yummy, even before they age.  I’m not real pleased with the glaze.  I couldn’t get the powdered sugar to incorporate and it left lumps.  As it cooled it also left white spots.  I will try something different next time.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

