Happy New Year

Hope everyone had a safe and sane New Years.  I know we did.  In bed and snoring about 9 PM.  Of course when you have to get up at 4:30 AM, ya gotta do that.  Everybody on radio and TV talks about what a lousy decade it was.  Good things happened along with the really bad, so I guess it really wasn’t any worse than any other.  And it sure could have been alot worse.

Anyway…..jambalaya for dinner last nite.  Southerners eat black eyed peas on New Years for good luck….and I’m from southern Idaho.  That ought to work.  I adapted this from my favorite southerner, Paula Deen.  Some stuff I had and some I didn’t.

JAMBALAYA

1 cup long-grain rice

1/2 of a red onion, chopped

1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 bay leaf

2 1/2 cups chicken broth

1 qt canned tomatoes

1 8 oz can of tomato sauce

3  smoked hot link sausages

1 lbs shrimp…I left the tails on

Throw everything, but the shrimp, in a big pot and simmer until rice is cooked and sauce is thick.  Add shrimp and cook until barely pink.

Now how easy was that.  And oh my….sooooo yummy….as you can tell by the almost empty pot.

Now for those New Years resolutions:

Eat healthier…yeah right.  Gonna make BrazenBites caramel cake today and cookies for lunch fixings.

Get more exercise….ahahahaha.  About all I exercise is my mouth and fingers.  That ain’t gonna happen.

I know….I know.  Remember to wind the cuckoo clock.  I do forget that some times…like yesterday.  It’s an 8 day clock, but it isn’t hung up far enough on the wall for the weights and chains to hang straight, so its about a 5 3/4 day clock.

Well, here’s to another New Year.  Hope y’all can stand my babbling for another one.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

