So much for Spring Fever

Woke up to snow this morning.  Not a bunch, but please…….if it’s gonna snow make it worth while.  Besides that, my Honey is pissed he hasn’t gotten to plow snow with his new tractor.

We have been eating alot of soup this winter.  It has just sounded good and my Honey likes soup, it’s easy so why not??  Yesterday I put split peas and a ham bone in the crock pot.  I had a little bit of asparagus left over and I thought I was the only one who ate asparagus here.  Well about dinner time my Honey announced that he likes cream of asparagus soup.  Go figure…..won’t eat the stuff from the garden, but likes the soup.

CREAM OF ASPARAGUS SOUP

chopped onion

chapped garlic

butter

asparagus…i used ends and all

chicken broth

sour cream

I sauteed the onions and garlic in some butter, then added the asparagus.  Sauteed it all a bit then added chicken broth and simmered until the asparagus is soft.  Let cool a bit then puree it all with an immersion blender or regular blender (be careful when its hot….the lid tends to go flying).  Add sour cream and reheat.  Then enjoy

Yum….yum.  I would enclose a pic, but, well, we snarfed it all down before I even thought about it.  I did find a great recipe for some crackers.  It as in the newsletter from Loletta Cheese Factory in Humboldt County.  I had to do some adapting to what was in the pantry and cut the ingredients in half.  So here is my version

NUTTY CHEESE CRACKERS

1/2 lb of soft butter

1/2 lb sharp cheddar cheese (I have used both orange and white)

1/2 cup toasted and chopped nuts (I used walnuts and didn’t toast them)

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/4 cups flour

Blend together butter and cheese.  Add nuts and seasonings.  Incorporate flour.  The last bit may have to be done by hand.  Roll into logs.  I generally make two.  Wrap with wax paper and chill about 3 hours.  Slice into 1/4″ or so rounds and bake on parchment paper lined cookie sheet at 350 for 12 minutes or edges are just browned.

These are great to eat or crumble in your soup or over a salad.  I usually bake one roll at a time and freeze the other for use later.

And I promised better pics of our baby goat.  So here ya go…..

And check out this face…….

Anybody think of a name yet?????

Tags: ,

One Response to “So much for Spring Fever”

  1. Nella Says:

    They only name I can think of right now is Hannah. Love ya

Leave a Reply

