Trying This Again with Muffins

I really can’t say why I stopped this.  Just did and now hopefully I can get back to it.  The last few days I have been checking back with some of my favorite blogs….some of them have survived and some have gone by the wayside…kinda like this one.  At any rate, My Honey started a new job with the Kenworth dealer this afternoon, so I am going to try this again.

I was checking out Arctic Garden Studio by Nichole in Fairbanks AK.  Anyone who knows me, knows I love Alaska and would move there in a heart beat, but now is not the right time.  At any rate, I found her Maple Walnut Muffins.  She adapted them from the cookbook Sarabeths Bakery by Sarabeth Levine.  I didn’t change a thing.  They are wonderful and I still wouldn’t change a thing.

 

MAPLE WALNUT MUFFINS

2 1/4 cups flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups maple syrup

1/4 tsp maple flavoring

1 1/2 sticks melted butter

1/2 cup milk

1 room temp large whole egg and 1 yolk

1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Whisk together the dry ingredients on one bowl, minus the nuts and the wets in another.  Mix the wet in the dry and stir together until just combined.  Add nuts and let set until the dry ingredients have absorbed the liquid.   Place in greased muffin tins and bake at 400 for 10 minutes and then reduce heat to 375 and bake until tops are brown and the toothpick test is right.

These came out wonderful.  Moist and mapley, but with a crunchy top.  I think next time I make muffins I will try the “let it set and absorb” trick.  I be thinking that is the key.  These are geat for breakfast…a mid morning or afternoon snack and of course to throw in a lunch box.

Well,  grandkids are home from school,  so on to homework.   Tomorrow Cinnamon Snurrs….intrigued??

Tags:

2 Responses to “Trying This Again with Muffins”

  1. Shoy Nelson Says:

    I love maple anything so I’m going to take a batch of these to the next Skills Meeting- does it make more than a dozen?
    love ya
    Shoy

  2. justgrams Says:

    I used a regular muffin tin and one of those scoops…I call it an ice cream scoop…and it easily made 15 and by scrapping the bowl and all another smaller one. Let me know how they turn out

Leave a Reply

