Chocolate Chip Cookies for Cheaters

Well, at least I know now why I have felt “out-of-sorts” most of this week.  The dreaded flu.  Hope it only last today.  I really don’t feel like blogging today, but I have already missed too many days.

Earlier in the week, as I put the last of the brownies in my Honey’s lunch, I knew I had to whip up some kind of cookies for the next day.  It was late in the afternoon and I didn’t feel like it.  Something easy and quick.  Well, here it is… from cooks.com….

TOLL HOUSE BAR COOKIES

2 1/3 c. sifted cake flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 c. soft butter
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 c. brown sugar, packed
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
1 (12 oz.) pkg. semi-sweet chocolate pieces
1 c. walnuts, chopped
Sift together flour, soda and salt; set aside. Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each. Add dry ingredients; mix well. Stir in chocolate pieces and walnuts. Spread mixture in greased 15 1/2 x 10 1/2 inch jelly roll pan. Bake in 375 degree oven for 20 minutes or until done. Cool in pan. Cut into 2 inch squares. Makes about 35.
Now please understand that I have always been chocolate chip cookies challenged.  No recipe…nothing I have tried has ever prevented flat spread out ugly cookies.  These are nice and flakey.  I will use this anytime the family or I have a craving for chocolate chip cookies.  My only tip or suggestion is to dampen whatever you are going to use to spread out the dough..fingers or spatula.  The dough is really sticky.
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

