French Baquettes

This recipe from allrecipes.com and was posted on Facebook.    It sounded quick and easy for a yeast bread.  I read the reviews and they all sounded promising.  Although this recipe is originally written for a bread machine, it works just great without.  I used my KichenAid…..Layla, I love you….almost as much as my Honey.

FRENCH BAQUETTES

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 1/2 cups bread flour
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon water

Proof the yeast in water with sugar.  Add to flour in mixer and knead.  When just about finished kneading, add the salt.  Lightly grease and place in a bowl to rise until double.  Punch down then roll to 16X12 rectangle and then cut in half.  Roll each half starting on the 12 side, pounding out air bubbles as you go.  Place side by side and cut slits in each loaf.  Let rise until double then brush egg and water over and bake at 375 for 20 to 25 minutes with some water in the oven in another pan.

This bread is crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside.  Yum!!!  It wil make great sandwich rolls or dipping/dunking bread.  I admit that I forgot to brush the egg on the top to aid in browning, but they turned out ok anyway.  I need to work on my shaping too, but sure tastes good.

I was poking around some of my favorite blogs.  I found the cutest parkas made by finnskimo.  She is Finish and Eskimo and lives above the Arctic Circle in Kotzebue AK.  She is always making things for her kids and with her kids and just having a great time and enjoying almost every minute of life.  If ya get a chance check it out.   finnskimo.blogspot.com

Tags:

Leave a Reply

