Pickup, Pieces, Parts and Pickled Beans

Meet Peebles…My Honey’s pride and joy.  She will be with us forever.  We are done with the new stuff and now have vehicles a person can actually work on.  She is about the third one like this that I have had and I lost count at how many of these my Honey has had of this body style.  It’s a bit like going home when you jump in and drive.

My honey had decided to put a 4BT and new tranny in her.  A 4BT is a baby Cummins diesel engine.  Supposedly she will get 20MPG, but who knows.  He will have to drive her for the rest of his life to make up for the cost of this “little” project, but who cares.  It makes him happy.  Having and working on older vehicles is a disease……a very costly disease and I don’t think there is a cure.  I have a tad bit of the same disease my self, but I really think there are alot worse things in the world to keep one occupied.  If you or someone you know is interested here is the link to his thread on a Ford forum.  I will continue with updates once in awhile, but he keeps his thread up to date and alot more involved.

http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1033583-my-78-f150-4×4-swb-cummins-4bt-build.html

At any rate, took a road trip in the fog to Idaho Falls and got him an engine.  We stopped at Michaels.  I was looking for some texture paint for a project for WyoNella, but apparently Duncan ceramic paints are not to be found in this part of the country.  One more place to check in Twin Falls and then…oh gee, a road trip to Portland.  We also stopped at a junk store in Shelley.  I found a matching tiki glass from Harrahs in South Lake Tahoe that was in my Mother’s things.  More on that later.

By the time we got home it was time to start thinking about dinner.  Sliders would work and I grabbed a jar of pickles beans that I had made at sometime this summer when I had “the over abundant garden stare” going on.  I had frozen all the green and yellow beans we could use, given alot away and still had plenty.  I was glancing through an old Ball canning book and found a recipe I could adapt with what I had on hand.

Pickled Beans

2 lbs. trimmed green beans

1 tsp dill weed

1 tsp dill seed

1 tsp cayenne pepper

2 1/2 cups white vinegar

2 1/2 cups water

1/4 cup sea salt

2 or more cloves of garlic

Trim beans lengthwise to fit in your jars.  Bring water, vinegar and salt to a boil.  Add garlic and 1/4 tsp of each spice to each jar.  Cover with hot liquid, seal and process in boiling water bath for 10 mins.  Makes 4 pints.

These were a BIG hit with family and friends.  We like them all the time.  They have found their way into Leon’s Famous Bloody Marys, the juice gets drank straight and fights have nearly erupted over the garlic cloves.  So I solved that problem by grabbing a bag of already peeled and cleaned garlic cloves at COSTCO and pickling them in the same juice.  Hope you try these and enjoy.

Oh no….more green beans to be planted this spring…I can feel it coming.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

