Yes…..It’s Been Cold Here

Boy, the way the weather has been this winter I was beginning to think that we might have just missed the below zero weather, but alas, it found us.

How cold has it been???

The hens have all but quit laying.  Two eggs a day is all the ole girls will give up and I can’t say as I blame them.  The cats refuse to go out.  It’s much nicer to lounge on the back of the couch in the sunshine.  Everytime the door opens, the dogs have their noses in the door wanting in, or they are curled up on the patio chair pads.  The kids and I have added insulated coveralls to our wardrobe for doing chores.  And my Explorer, which has to sit outside because there is no room in the garage, will start, but doesn’t really want to.  When it does there is the loudest screeching noise as the belt slips around until it warms up.  In other words…………

So we need a good hot breakfast.  How about home made chorizo, potatoes, eggs a bit of cheese??  Works for me.

Fry up some spuds, add chorizo and fry till done, throw in some scrambled eggs and when they are about done, add cheese.  Simple enough.

CHORIZO

5 lbs ground pork

3 medium yellow onions

1 poblano pepper

8 cloves garlic chopped

3 Tbsp paprika

5 tsp salt

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp oregano

2 tsp cayenne pepper

3 Tbsp dried crushed red peppers

1/2 tsp cinnamon

I ran the onions and pepper through the grating blade on the food processor.  I had plenty of juice from that mixture and the pre-chopped garlic, but if you think you need a little more liquid use a tad bit of dry red wine.   I put it all in Layla with the dough hook and let it mix away.  Every once in awhile I brought up any unmixed sausage from the bottom with a spatula.  No raw meat under my fingernails or in my rings!!!!

My tablespoons measurements are heaping and all of them are to taste.  To try yours out and make sure you are happy with it, fry a little patty and taste test.  This recipe is NOT that greasy red stuff that you buy in the casings at the grocery store that turns everything red.

UPDATE……….

The 4BT is here!!!!!!!

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

