School Birthday Treats

It sure is hard to believe Girlie is as old as she is.  Time sure does go by fast anymore!!!  But at any rate…aren’t they cute???   Don’t they look like an ice cream sundae? Got the idea from bakerella.  She does some really cute things, but most are too complicated for me…but they are fun to look at.

You start with the cupcake part.  Any flavor.  I was going to use strawberry, but none at the store.  I got a white cake mix and added strawberry flavoring and a bit of red food coloring.  Fill the cups about half full instead of the usual 2/3.  You gotta have room to hold the rest.

Then you make ganache ….chocolate of course while you are wating for the cakes to cool a bit.  I am getting really lazy any more.  I heat up the cream in my 8 cup glass measuring cup in the microwave.  Stir in the chocolate chips and there ya go.  It also makes it easy to fill the cupcakes.  The more the better.  After all it is chocolate.

Then make basic buttercream frosting.  Pipe it on so it looks like whipped cream.  I used a 2C tip, but any flower tip will do.  Sprinkle the sprinkles on after you frost each one, or they won’t stick!!

Then plunk a round red candy on top.  They didn’t have any jawbreakers or fire balls at the store, so I used some kind of sour something or other.  That ought to pucker them kids up….LOL

You do end up with a ton, so be prepared for that.  Of course I had tooooo much frosting and ganache.  Oh well, I am sure I can find a use for it.

They all got delivered to the Mrs. Hess’ fourth grade class this morning in one piece.  Along with the gob of frosting on my shoe that I didn’t notice I slopped.  Big Sigh………..

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

