Oreo Muffins

Ok…so is there really a better way to eat oreos????  Probably not.  And I don’t know why I think I am going to build a better mouse trap, but here goes.

Found this recipe by accident on Kraft Foods.   I don’t normally read the reviews, but I did this time.   The recipe met with very mixed reviews.  Some said good just as is…others, too dry….still others, not sweet enough.  I took the advice of one lady, so this is the recipe as I made it.

OREO MUFFINS

1-3/4 cups flour
1/4 cup  sugar plus 1 Tbsp
1 Tbsp. CALUMET Baking Powder
1/2 tsp.  salt
1/3 cup cold margarine or butter
1/4 cup sour cream
1   egg
1 cup milk
16   OREO Cookies, coarsely chopped (about 2 cups)
Mix together dry ingredients…all but oreos.  Mix together wet ingredients.  Combine, but don’t over mix.  Let set a few minutes to soak up the moisture and then stir in oreos.  Bake in sprayed muffin tin or use liners in your tin at 350 for 30 minutes.  Cool and try them out.
Before I go on, I have a little side note….
MIL got me and the girls a bunch of these last year.   They are the bomb!!!!  They are thin and don’t hang on to the muffin/cupcake and just need a quick swish in the dishwater.  Unlike the colored ones, which are cute and have their place, but  hang on to half your muffin only to dump out in your lap and you have to scrub the ridges, even after soaking.  I love ’em.  She just got me some more from one of her catalogs and that was a good thing.  They do tend to disappear every once in awhile….unseen in an empty sandwich bag or in a pile on the counter that you dump in the trash.  I use them all the time…unless, that is,  the goodies are going to school.
These are ok…they are moist enough..could use a tablespoon more sugar.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but………I guess this wasn’t it.  I might make them again, but I think I would rather dunk the 16 oreos.
…..NEWSFLASH…..
They appeared on the scene just before a nasty spring snow storm blew through.  They weren’t unexpected.  We were just unprepared.  A little girl and a little boy….Espresso and Cappuccino.
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

